Early Years Foundation Stage (Nursery & Reception)

The Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum provides the building blocks upon which everything else is built. The Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum consists of learning goals for children to achieve by the end of their reception year. These goals are organized into six areas of learning.

  • Personal, social and emotional development
  • Communication, language and literacy
  • Knowledge and understanding of the world
  • Mathematical development
  • Physical development
  • Creative development

In the Foundation Stage, the children learn through a carefully structured and planned curriculum based on a wide variety of play opportunities including imaginative play, designing and constructing, investigating and exploring sand and water, creative activities and energetic play both inside and outside.

Early Years Curriculum

© Copyright 2018–2019 Oakfield Primary School